Friday, February 24, 2012

Finding an Exercise Routine

My husband has recently set a goal to lose 40 lbs.  He would like to lose at least 25 lbs in the next 3 months.  That's good news for me and my weight loss journey, because it means it will be easier to eat healthy if it's something that everyone wants anyway (we're lucky and Elliott loves fruit and most veggies).  It also means that we can work on motivating each other to work out, stay on top of healthy eating, etc.  My sister would also like to lose some weight, but her motivation isn't as strong right now, but she's willing to go along with the healthy eating and everything.

So now that my sister lives with us and works an evening shift, I'll be heading out early in the morning to go to the gym with my husband twice a week.  We need to be on base by 545, so that I can work out for almost an hour and still get home in time to get Elliott ready for school.  That means I'll have to be up and out the door almost 2 hours earlier than I usually get up, so I'll have to get in bed earlier.  I think I can make that work, though.  My son is in bed by 730 every night, and most nights my husband is in bed by 930.  My sister doesn't get off work until 10, and I've been hanging out with her until after midnight, but I'm sure she'll be ok if I go to bed earlier (so I can be up by 445). 

In fact, I think that what will probably work the best for my exercise routine is if I go ahead and get up with my husband EVERY morning and work out at home after he heads out to do his exercise class twice a week.  Then I'll get 4-5 work outs in every week, and won't have to worry about when to squeeze them in.  It will also give me some time to get some stuff done online in the morning.  Even though I don't really consider myself to be a morning person, I have to admit that I'm usually more productive in the morning.  Hopefully I'll even find more time to blog this way. :)

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

February Goals Update

I've kind of fallen off of the healthy eating wagon since my sister got here.  It's always harder for me during the winter anyway.  I'm really trying to get back into it this week.  I don't plan on giving up ALL the not so healthy choices I can have (I'm gluten free, so that limits several choices right there).  But I'm hoping to do better about moderation.  Yesterday was a disaster.  We had burgers and doritos last night.  I didn't portion the doritos for everyone, so we ended up eating an entire bag!  There was some finger pointing on who was to blame, but the bottom line is that bag should have lasted an entire two weeks and was all gone in ONE sitting.  From now on, I'll portion stuff into individual bags or bowls before it leaves the kitchen and everyone else will have to deal with it, whether they like it or not. :)

Financially things are in decent order.  We didn't make quite as much progress as I would like toward debt this month, but anything is better than nothing.  My husband and I had a rare kid free date night, and we took Elliott to see Journey 2, but otherwise didn't spend too much extra.  Our budget includes entertainment money that was enough to cover those things. 

Me time is much easier to find when I'm home alone (or at least the only one awake).  My sister is going to be working an evening shift a lot, so I hope I'll still be able to find some time for me.  I've done some crafting this month, as well as reading 3 books.  I've also managed to find more time to work out than I thought I would.

Time Flies and I am Terrible at Blogging!

I can't believe it's been almost a month since I last blogged here.  Things have been incredibly hectic.  I really need to stop waiting until the last minute to do things!

My sister moved in with us at the very end of January.  We moved a bunch of stuff into the dinning room so she would have a place to put her stuff.  We planned on going through the stuff in the dining room right away and getting rid of some, and storing the rest.  It's mostly seasonal stuff and stuff that Elliott has outgrown.  Anyway, we still can't eat in the dining room.  We even bought a new dining room table, and haven't been able to use it yet. 

My son turned 6 this month!  He invited 22 kids to his party, but it snowed that day, so only 6 showed up.  It was still fun, though, and much easier to handle. :)  My husband ended up having to go to work before the party was over, so I'm kind of glad that we didn't have a bunch of kids.  It was a great group, though, and gave us time to play all the games I had planned, without getting bored waiting for a turn, etc.  Elliott was a little bit bummed that one of his best friends didn't show up, but he was out with an ear infection on Thursday and Friday (Elliott's party was Saturday), so we weren't really expecting him on Saturday anyway.

My sister had no trouble at all finding a job.  Both places she applied offered her a job, but she took the one with a less fixed schedule.  Like this week she works 9am-5pm today, and 2-10 pm the rest of the week.  She's been there a week, though, and likes it so far.  The pay is much better than her last job (but her last job was in southern MO where the cost of living is incredibly low).  She's suffering from sticker shock when she goes shopping, but otherwise seems to like living out in the middle of nowhere. :)

Vacation Countdown Ticker